Jo Shapcott Announced As Winner Of The 2010 Costa Book Of The Year

Jo Shapcott Announced As Winner Of The 2010 Costa Book Of The Year

Author Jo Shapcott has been announced as the winner of the Costa Book Awards 2010 for her Poetry collection ‘Of Mutability’.

In Of Mutability, Shapcott is found writing at her most memorable and bold.  In a series of fresh, unflinching poems, she movingly explores mortality and the nature of change: in the body and the natural world, and in shifting relationships between people.  By turns grave and playful, arresting and witty, the poems in Of Mutability celebrate each waking moment as though it might be the last and, in so doing, restore wonder to the smallest of encounters. 

Judges comments: “These strong poems are rooted in the poet’s experience of breast cancer but are all about life, hope and play. Fizzing with variety, they are a paean to creativity and make the reader feel that what matters to us all is imagination, humanity and a smile."

The winning author was decided by a judging panel including actors David Morrissey and Elizabeth McGovern, broadcasters Natasha Kaplinsky and Anneka Rice, poet Ruth Padel, and authors Adele Parks, Tim Bowler and Juliet Nicolson. The panel was chaired by publisher and broadcaster Andrew Neil.

NATALIE.JACKSON@TVCGROUP.COM 0207 535 5800 | MOBILE NO. 07535 704 694

For additional information please visit